Exam Pattern - Sage IAS Exam Pattern - Sage IAS

The Civil Services Examination comprises two successive stages:

  1. Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective Type) for the selection of candidates for Civil Services (Main) Examination; and
  2. Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview/Personality Test) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts.
Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination:
The Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination will consist of two papers of Objective type 200 marks each;
  1. Both the question papers will be of the objective type and each will be of two hours duration.
  2. The General Studies Paper-II will be a qualifying paper with minimum qualifying marks fixed at 33%.
Civil Services (Main) Examination
The Written Examination will consist of the following papers:—

Qualifying Papers:
Paper-A (One of the Indian Language from the Languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution). 300 Marks
Paper-B English 300 Marks
Papers to be counted for merit:
Essay 250 Marks
General Studies-I
(Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society)
250 Marks
General Studies-II
(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)
250 Marks
General Studies-III
(Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)
250 Marks
General Studies -IV
(Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)
250 Marks
Optional Subject – Paper 1 250 Marks
Optional Subject – Paper 2 250 Marks
Sub Total (Written test) 1750 Marks
Need Help?